Iyerrr.....dun no why ah the Engrish at the local blog so unreadable wan.
So many people snake snake and write in here but ho...theyr engrish so teribel liao.Some of them dono what to said but just come in and blow water only...haih. Blow water nevermind but at lease must tok smart thing la...this wan talk cock and sing song.
Yesterday i sleep late so make me com to work late..lucky hor my boss come more late than me...wakaka so i is escape lorrr...hope everything go shun shun li li today..
Oh My God....i cant stand even to write it in poor english and yet there are a whole bunch of them that actually think they are writing it correctly.
What the hell does "WAKAKAKA" mean? Laughing cutely? a simple heheh would suffice...but noooooo....it usually comes after a smart aleck remark as in " You ah..look like my grandmother's backside ....WAKAKAKA....jeeez..
And then there are those who write sickeningly cute phrases peppering each sentence with "gua", "nyek nyek" (!!) excrutiating!
Haih....so sienz liao....wakakaka
And then there are those who are practically donkeys : as in "He horr...go to the pasar malam haa and then buy goreng pisang wor..."
Tuesday, April 14, 2009
RAINism and Han
Was watching Discovery the other nite and came across this piece on Korea. Who do they feature but Rain, the singing sensation.
I must say i had my reservations about any manufactured eye candy parading as entertainers that is being churned out constantly these days so it was with total disinterest that i followed the story.
Slowly however, the story started to take an interesting turn as they delved into his earlier years as a struggling actor/dancer and the shit this boy had to go thru to get where he is today.
Apparently though he had some dancing and singing talent, nobody would sign him on as he didnt have what they required: Double eyelids. (apparently the chinky eyes wasnt commercially viable at that time).
But he soldiered on and then slowly started to get recognition for his true talent. The rest is history.
What was also interesting is the concept of "HAN"... being described as such :
"feeling of unresolved resentment against injustices suffered, a sense of helplessness because of the overwhelming odds against one, a feeling of acute pain in one's guts and bowels, making the whole body writhe and squirm, and an obstinate urge to take revenge and to right the wrong -- all these combined."
Well apparently this is a cultural thingy with them Koreans, described more or less as "unfinished business", this is apparently the philosophy that drove Rain to be successfull.
From a poor, meek weakly kid to an international superstar, he had used Han to drive himself to the top....all in his twenties!
Damn! What resolve! Imagine that: Using all that anguish, pain, humiliation and handicap to overcome your shortcomings and to great success....whew.
I wonder what Malaysians have in our culture thats driving us? MALAYSIA BOLEH is probably the closest but even then was coined by and advertising agency for a popular drink.
Resilience in the face of adversity....that used to be my personal motto and i have never felt the true meaning of this phrase as much as I do now..
I guess we all need a motto in life (no..not idiotic ones like "Born to be Wild" and all that shit ) to see us through the dark times that come.
So no...im not going to start buying Rain's albums ( am not THAT gay..actually im not gay at all...just a little bit happy) but i must say i have some new found respect for that chinky eyed batty boy. HEEM NAY SAY YO!
I must say i had my reservations about any manufactured eye candy parading as entertainers that is being churned out constantly these days so it was with total disinterest that i followed the story.
Slowly however, the story started to take an interesting turn as they delved into his earlier years as a struggling actor/dancer and the shit this boy had to go thru to get where he is today.
Apparently though he had some dancing and singing talent, nobody would sign him on as he didnt have what they required: Double eyelids. (apparently the chinky eyes wasnt commercially viable at that time).
But he soldiered on and then slowly started to get recognition for his true talent. The rest is history.
What was also interesting is the concept of "HAN"... being described as such :
"feeling of unresolved resentment against injustices suffered, a sense of helplessness because of the overwhelming odds against one, a feeling of acute pain in one's guts and bowels, making the whole body writhe and squirm, and an obstinate urge to take revenge and to right the wrong -- all these combined."
Well apparently this is a cultural thingy with them Koreans, described more or less as "unfinished business", this is apparently the philosophy that drove Rain to be successfull.
From a poor, meek weakly kid to an international superstar, he had used Han to drive himself to the top....all in his twenties!
Damn! What resolve! Imagine that: Using all that anguish, pain, humiliation and handicap to overcome your shortcomings and to great success....whew.
I wonder what Malaysians have in our culture thats driving us? MALAYSIA BOLEH is probably the closest but even then was coined by and advertising agency for a popular drink.
Resilience in the face of adversity....that used to be my personal motto and i have never felt the true meaning of this phrase as much as I do now..
I guess we all need a motto in life (no..not idiotic ones like "Born to be Wild" and all that shit ) to see us through the dark times that come.
So no...im not going to start buying Rain's albums ( am not THAT gay..actually im not gay at all...just a little bit happy) but i must say i have some new found respect for that chinky eyed batty boy. HEEM NAY SAY YO!
Wednesday, April 8, 2009
Celebrate
Well they say that one should always have occasions to celebrate as this would bring luck into your life. Personally i feel we should all have at least one occassion to celebrate every month...whether its a friends wedding or a birthday party maybe even a housewarming for that matter.
So now i shall seek out those who are celebrating whatever they wanna celebrate. No...its not for the free food and drinks (though that would be bonus). No.. its not about meeting gals (too cliched and too Wedding Crashers). I suppose its about being surrounded by happy people for a joyous occasion. Lately too many negatives have been plaque-ing the world...from shitty economy to shitty politics to shitty pigeons (as in they are shitting all over my condo area and on cars)
SO a good celebration once a month at least is in order..
I got an invitation to a friend's wedding this end month and am looking forward to it. Without giving away too much of the plot, all i can say that its one of the more creative wedings I'm attending with the couple planning differently than the usual video slides of the couple growing up, graduating and taking trips overseas (talk about being narcissistic).
That's the thing about weddings....notice how its always about childhood pics, followed envitably by the graduation pics, then the couples dating pics...yawn..
Then you have the MCs of the night.. some are genuinely good. Some just too much. Guess they forget its about the couple and not about them. Been to one where the MC had the cheek to quote some line from the Will Smith movie "Hitch" and then claim that he came out with the quote himself...duh!
But bad MCs and cliched gambits aside, most important is the atmosphere of joy and bliss of the occasion. After all...its for the celebrants to remember, not us.
So I'm looking forward to the invites. Wont say no!
Tuesday, April 7, 2009
Screw the Lightbulb, Pat the Dog

Well today i got to thinking about training the left brain and the right brain for better brain performance. Apparently, the brain is like a muscle, u need to use it daily to make it stronger. Apparently also you need to train both sides by switching your normally dominant actions once in a while to wake up the less dominant side of the brain....
Well now that makes sense....also explains why we have so many Indian ex pats working in the Advertising Industry. My theory is that they have mastered the art of using both brain hemispheres to produce brilliant individuals...
Think about it...their Indian Dance moves is just like Screwing a lightbulb with one hand whilst Patting a Dog at the same time with the other hand.. (refer to tiny pic above) Doing this dance moves actually trains both your brain hemispheres, hence you get brilliant Indians / individuals!
Now i wan to start going to Indian Pubs ...Screw the lightbulb, pat the dog, screw the lightbulb, pat the dog... now I'll either be exceptionally smart or a hit at the Indian dancefloor!
Sunday, April 5, 2009
Massages Fast N Furious
Was introduced to one of the famous blind massage centers yesterday. As my friend was being massaged in a separate cubicle, i was on the other bed listening and asking the blind masseuse questions on the massages that they offer.
What really struck me was how full of life Ceceilia, the masseuse, was. She is partially blind and was talking about the everyday goings on with her life ( and some of her customers) without the usual bitching and sarcasm one has grown accustomed to hearing.
I mean here was a lady, with a severe handicap, making a living the only way she knows how and living the life of one who has conquered her not only her disabilities but expects no symphaties.
She was dishing out advice and joking and commenting about life in general and I must say after a while i forgot off her disablilities and was thoroughly enjoying every moment of the 1 1/2 hour.
Think im gonna be hooked on Ceceilia's oil massages..
Well after the massage we were off to watch Fast N Furious 4 ....now i rarely watch movies at the cinema (censorship sucks!) opting instead to support the pirates. But this being a slow Sunday, i thought i could do worse then to stay at home marinating. PLUS there was Vin Diesel making a rare sequel comeback. So off we went for the massage and then to midvalley for the movie..must say it wasnt AS bad as i thought it would be...as to be expected from the FNF franchise.
So there goes my weekend of Oil Massages and Fast Cars...Vroooom!
What really struck me was how full of life Ceceilia, the masseuse, was. She is partially blind and was talking about the everyday goings on with her life ( and some of her customers) without the usual bitching and sarcasm one has grown accustomed to hearing.
I mean here was a lady, with a severe handicap, making a living the only way she knows how and living the life of one who has conquered her not only her disabilities but expects no symphaties.
She was dishing out advice and joking and commenting about life in general and I must say after a while i forgot off her disablilities and was thoroughly enjoying every moment of the 1 1/2 hour.
Think im gonna be hooked on Ceceilia's oil massages..
Well after the massage we were off to watch Fast N Furious 4 ....now i rarely watch movies at the cinema (censorship sucks!) opting instead to support the pirates. But this being a slow Sunday, i thought i could do worse then to stay at home marinating. PLUS there was Vin Diesel making a rare sequel comeback. So off we went for the massage and then to midvalley for the movie..must say it wasnt AS bad as i thought it would be...as to be expected from the FNF franchise.
So there goes my weekend of Oil Massages and Fast Cars...Vroooom!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)