Sunday, March 29, 2009

Throw Out 50 things

Oh Earth Hour has come and gone...are we the wiser for it? Doubt it. Knowing our penchant for hot chicken shit..thats probably what it was.

On a more positive note, I came across this interview that was done on CNN a few weeks back on Gail Blanke, the author of Throw Out Fifty Things.

What an interesting concept....Throwing out stuff that has cluttered your life both physically and mentally. That old love letter from "The One"...out! The old sneakers you thought u would get repaired but never got to it.....bye bye. Old Habits that dont get u anywhere...TATA..

Thought it was brilliant that the motto for this exercise is You cant Grow If You Dont Throw..

I must confess there is a plethora of barang and emotions that I need to throw outta my life. Other then mismatched socks and old newspapers theres definitely a need to cleanse off some emotional baggage thats been weighing me down.

Havent read the book but am definitely gonna start THROWING out these stuff. Oh yeah..apparently you're supposed to list down the stuff that you are throwing out of your life so that you know exactly what it was that was weighing u down..

Wednesday, March 25, 2009

Earth Hour 2009

Well well well...so we have suddenly decided to become green isit? To care for our Earth isit? Turning off the lights on 28th March are we?If Mother Earth can talk she probably would go NYAAA SENG!

I just get the feeling that this whole Earth Hour thingy smacks clear of exploitation for the sake of attention. From the ridiculously produced promos runnning on Astro( our so called icons and celebrities shouldn't try TOO hard....it comes out as being embarrassing) to people wanting to have a BBQ session outdoors during that hour (switch off your lights but have open burning outside...brilliant!), this whole hoopla is really sad. After March 28th? Back to our normal habits.

This reminds me of the time when I was working for the Environmental Protection Society Of Malaysia (EPSM) back in the early 90s. It was run by Gurmit Singh(i slap you if u make a Phua Chu Kang joke) and his wife Tan. ( i slap you some more if u make a Chinese+ Bai marriage joke)

Gurmit was/is the foremost environmental expert in Malaysia. We had reporters coming in seeking his opinions cos he wasnt the type that recycled (no pun intended) opinions about how Malaysia is treating Mother Earth. He was a true environmentalist. Many private companies wanted to sponsor EPSM but he turned them down as they always wanted him tone down his scathing remarks on how the government policies are ruining the environment ( he even once went kayaking on the Klang river with a gas mask on!)

We the staff could not turn on the fan simply.You cannot turn the fan to more then 2 speed. All electrical outlets had to be switched off carefully to avoid wastage. Our office was at SS2. One day he told me to go collect some materials from Damansara Utama. He called me up to his attic..thinking he was about to give me money for cab fare, he instead gave me a bicycle pump and pointed to an old bicycle! You try cycling from SS2 to Damansara at 2pm in the afternoon.

Detergents were used to a minimal, we sold organic produces from Tan's organic farm, we had charity nites where we sold our ALAM magazines to raise funds for the society.

I had to catalog and organize all the working papers he brought back from his conventions he attended. It was a cramped up terrace house he lived in doubled up as the center. We were young, idealistic and full of confidence we were going to make a difference. I dont know about my impact on the environment, but my stint there impacted me deeply.

After about 1 1/2 years, i decided to join the corporate world for a "proper" job.. he threw me and my colleague a farewell dinner! This hard man, who raised hell when we used one sided photocopies, who never allowed us to use the aircond in those sweltering days, who skimped and saved on transportation took us to Kelana Sea Food for a great dinner.

I was sad to leave but will always remember what it means to be a true lover of the environment..eventhough im NOW probably contributing to the Earth's destruction more then i should..for that one half years we were LIVING Earth Hour everyday...not just for one ridiculous hour.

Tuesday, March 24, 2009

"BUAT LAH HANG!"

"As I was walking up the stair;
I saw a man who wasn't there;
I saw him again today;
How I wish, I WISH he'd go away."

Seems this little ditty by Hugh Mearns covers what most of us are feeling in these times of harsh financial times. People over-panicking for reasons unknown to them.

I think thats why AIG is now the four-letter word in the financial world.

On a more personal scale, how many of us actually hold back because of some undefined ( probably non-existent) fear? Fear of the unknown, fear of being rejected, fear of looking stupid in front of your clients / friends? If one REALLY breaks down and dissect this feeling, I am willing to bet that it was over nothing but a vivid imagination.

Dont get me wrong. Fear is important.It's what keeps us alive and steers us away from unnecessary dangers. Irrational fear, however is a totally different scenario.

Its those little things : "Cant stop smoking cos i will gain weight"; "Wanna be more successful but its too late for me..am too old"; "Cant open up to anyone cos i might get hurt and betrayed"; "I'll start once im more confident of myself", and the list just goes on and on."

But that's just life isnt it? It has its ups and downs..One day you'r on top of your game, the next day ur down on the dumps. And sometimes things are just....stagnant. No more wind for your sail.

I would like to think that at these times you gotta blow your own sail. Dont wait for that external magical motivation to get ur butt off the sofa and into action.Just do it.

Guess we gots to focus on what we CAN do: eating well, getting exercise, be well rested.

Like Nike said: JUST DO IT (BUAT LAH HANG in Malay)....;)

Wednesday, March 18, 2009

PAIN

Whew...just started SERIOUSLY going back to the gym last Friday and man i forgot two things:

1) The pain

2) How out of shape i am

And this is just from RPM and Body Pump classes.Havent even hit the weights seriously yet!

Was tempted to post my before and after pics of a semi nude Kevin here but somehow decided otherwise bcos: a) Might cause heart palpitations ( hey i look good in a sarong!) b) Might superimpose my face having sex with some Opposition's wife or daughter or pet.

Some of the gym members take their training seriously though with MOST of them going for two classes BACK TO BACK!!

I know there are hotties around the gym but honestly..how on earth are u gonna hit on someone (or be hit upon for that matter) when your huffing, panting AND sweating your guts out literally! I mean its ok to check on a cute one's ass before the class starts but during and after?? Fogetaboutit.

Its good though to see we Malaysians getting into the fitness lifestyle and making it a part of our lives but I have one grouse though: Why isit that the Matsallehs get paid USD 50 an hour and our locals get RM70 only? Yes i know they are probably overseas trained but it seems to me that the locals really move amongst the members correcting their postures whilst the Matsallehs dont bother. Best part is the SPGs crowd around the foreigners after class asking for advice..Geez.

No doubt its a money making franchise as well...the so called personal trainers using every sales tactics to get you to sign up for their personal training packages and Diamond Membership fees..which is OK if its in the hundreds but when it goes into the thousands its daylight robbery! I mean come on ....at least LOOK interested that you really care instead of going through the standard sales pitch with an impersonal/impassive look on your mugs. And having a curvy hottie in a miniskirt attend to you might impress a college kid perhaps but I need someone who actually knows what she is talking about when she suggest i take up a RM3000 package!

Back to the pain..reminded me of back in my regular gym days where i could workout, party till dawn on the same day and still shrugg off the muscle weariness the next day. Now i workout, struggle to get to my car and wake up at dawn from the muscle weariness!

I must confess i feel ashamed to light up immediately when i step out from the gym ( here u are, all pumped up in ur after gym clothes taking a smoke just outside! heheh Bet Celebrity Fitness would have a fit if they had that pic taken!

So here i am...back on the treadmill again which is cool as for that couple of hours your focused on your body....as well as the cutie in the pink leotards.

Thursday, March 12, 2009

CV



Came across this cool CV. Economy must be really bad...;)

Wednesday, March 11, 2009

Unreasonable Happiness

Whoa..what a freaky couple of weeks..

Seems LIFE is having a field day throwing brickbats and bouquets at your's truly.

Worklife seems to be taking the most battering with obstacles, dramas and plot twists galore, which in turn has affected the personal side a wee too much..Have gotten on the smoking wagon again (arrgh!) Though I give each stick a VERY dirty look when im finished.

Personal batteries are running low these days, a quick JumpStart with Ian usually does the trick but March 2009 really takes the cake.

Then amidst all this chaos comes Dan Millman, he of the Peaceful Warrior fame. Ian lent me a copy of the movie (hate to say I havent even watched it yet). Decided to google up the movie to see what's it all about...not bad reviews promising life changing/altering/inspiring moments. So im looking forward to it.

Decided to check on Dan M himself to see what's his story and came across his blog and one entitled Unreasonable Happiness. Here's an excerpt:

".....we act happy, radiate a happy positive state in the posture of our body, in our voice, in our expression — because that is something we can control. We can will ourselves to smile; we can behave and move and breathe as if we’re happy. Whatever the shifting state of our actual emotions, we can let our feelings be, get on with life, radiate energy into the world, and expand into the moment. This practice can be extremely difficult at times, but it remains possible...."

Well talk about being mind screwed.. Acting, behaving, pretending to be happy eventhough we arent??? Hmmmm makes sense....'cos Feelings change like the weather...we can't be all sun shinny and ur fart smells sweet all the time...u get down, u get low...life gets to ya....

"But isn’t it mere pretense to act happy even if we’re not feeling that way? Yes, it is — the way a terrified young soldier pretends to be courageous as he picks up his friend and carries him back through the firefight, the way the shy young girl walks across the middle-school dance floor and pretends to be confident while she asks someone to dance...."

Food for thought. Thanks Dan.

So Stepping Ma Game Up 2009: Be in the state of Unreasonable Happiness all the time.

Thursday, March 5, 2009

Michael Jackson Comeback

Just watched CNN and Michael Jackson is making a comeback attempt...which is OK in itself, until we are informed that Michael Jackson is 50 YEAR's OLD!!

Hold the freakin phone! I sat up immediately and took a 5 second stock on the whole thing before it sank in fully. Here was a superstar of MY generation, turning 50 and making a comeback....where did the time go??

Im 38 this year. Seems like only a short time ago me, my youngest sis and Mum were waiting eagerly for his albums to come out. The guys were trying to do the moonwalk and before our mirrors we were THRILLER-ring the zombie walk.

How did time zoom by so freakin' fast??

Then I remeber reading somewhere on David Bowie's ( who's turning 62!!) take on why time seems to be passing by faster as we get older.

A year when you are 10 years old is 10% of your life. Time passes at a snail's pace and u can't wait to be a teen. Then you cant wait to be 21, then 30, etc etc.Makes sense...when your young, you think time passes by SLOWLY but what's a year when you're 50? A split second by comparison..

As the mortal coil unwinds and we get older, I guess we suddenly realise our time is running out and we're getting closer closer to the Big D..which probably means we will then suddenly try to cram in as much as we can with the relatively short time we supposedly have left.

Whew...talk about a reality check moment. Hope Wacko Jacko doesnt throw his back.

Sunday, March 1, 2009

Human Beans

Read a few local (Malaysian) blogs and found it hilarious that Human Beings is constantly reduced to Human Beans. What a bummer to be reduced to kacangs.

Absolutely detest those bloggers who blog for attention sake, not speaking their true minds but catering to what they think people will like to read. The level of English is atrocious (which is always a major turn off). The mixture of Cantonese mixed in is cute done properly but gets freakin irritating when overdone.

Then there are the skanks who just love to draw attention to themselves. Come on...blogging a social commentary which comes off as self glorification is tres crass, no?

I must admit however, it is a constant source of humour (though un-intentional) when these bloggers attempt to be serious and only show how silly they are. If it is true you can tell a person's character from his/her blogs the these monkeys must really think they shit diamonds out of a platinum plated asshole.

I mean i have only just recently started blogging and thought would be interesting to read and share within the blogging community...even I know u just gotta draw a line somewhere!

I pity those who attempt to challenge / comment on these types of blog...suddenly u get attacked by their other friends (who basically are apple polishers trying to get into her pants) with even WORSE poorly worded counter arguments...sigh.

Maybe i should just brush up on my blogging skills before i comment further...and maybe we are just a nutty bunch of Human Beans after all.